The Crowe Street Cottages are the last pair of workers cottages to remain as part of the Abbot’s Hall Estate.
The name ‘Abbot’s Hall’ originated in the 12th century when King Henry II granted the manor of Stowmarket to the Abbey of St Osyth in Essex.
In 1316 Stowmarket was an outlying manor of the 12th Century Priory of St Osyth in Essex.
The mill house dates from 1765 although an extension was added in the Victorian period.
For nearly two hundred years this smithy was a bustling and vibrant place, hot from the glowing furnace and filled with the din of metal being hammered.
Robert Boby Ltd of Bury St Edmunds began life as an ironmonger in the 1850s.
Originally Eastbridge Windpump was one of four pumps that drained the Minsmere Levels near Leiston in East Suffolk.
Edgar’s House was ‘discovered’ in Combs, just south of Stowmarket. It had been incorporated into a much larger farmhouse dating from the Victorian era.
Great Moulton Chapel is typical of ‘tin tabernacles’ often found in East Anglia, Wales and the West Country.
The Home Close area of the Museum was once the Stock-yard for the Abbot’s Hall estate.
The Mortlock family were Blacksmiths by trade but also worked as agricultural contractors around Bury St Edmunds and Monks Eleigh.
The historic Settling House, also known as the Round House, Tally House, or Counting House, sat at the heart of Bury St Edmunds cattle market for over 130 years.
The Bone Building takes us through over 200 years of the history of the world famous engineering firm of Ransomes, Sims and Jeffries.