Collections > Our Buildings

Blacksmith’s Forge

For nearly two hundred years this smithy was a bustling and vibrant place, hot from the glowing furnace and filled with the din of metal being hammered.

Its last owner, Frederick Joseph Crapnell, took on the premises in 1913. Both his father and grandfather had been blacksmiths. It was from his father that Frederick learnt the trade. In 1968 he retired at the age of 86. Four years later the timber built smithy and travis (where the horses were shod) were saved from demolition and re-erected here.

The Blacksmith played an essential role in the agricultural world. He shod horses, made and repaired tools and machinery, made metal tyres to fit wooden wheels as well as making goods for domestic use such as cooking pots.

Why not see how many of these things can be found in our Smithy?